Coverart for item
The Resource We cast a shadow : a novel, Maurice Carlos Ruffin

We cast a shadow : a novel, Maurice Carlos Ruffin

Label
We cast a shadow : a novel
Title
We cast a shadow
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Maurice Carlos Ruffin
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In a near-future Southern city, everyone is talking about a new experimental medical procedure that boasts unprecedented success rates. In a society plagued by racism, segregation, and private prisons, this operation saves lives with a controversial method--by turning people white. Like any father, our unnamed narrator just wants the best for his son Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is getting bigger by the day. But in order to afford Nigel's whiteness operation, our narrator must make partner as one of the few black associates at his law firm, jumping through a series of increasingly absurd hoops--from diversity committees to plantation tours to equality activist groups--in a tragicomic quest to protect his son. This electrifying, suspenseful novel is, at once, a razor-sharp satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story. In the tradition of Ralph Ellison's Invisible Man, We Cast a Shadow fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
PUL
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Ruffin, Maurice Carlos,
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • African Americans
  • Fathers and sons
  • Surgery, Plastic
  • Racism
  • African Americans
  • FICTION / Literary
  • FICTION / Satire
  • FICTION / African American / General
  • American fiction
Label
We cast a shadow : a novel, Maurice Carlos Ruffin
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1035437430
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition
Extent
324 pages
Isbn
9780525509066
Lccn
2018021024
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1035437430
Label
We cast a shadow : a novel, Maurice Carlos Ruffin
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1035437430
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition
Extent
324 pages
Isbn
9780525509066
Lccn
2018021024
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1035437430

Library Locations

    • Miller LibraryBorrow it
      5100 Mayflower Hill, Waterville, ME, 04901, US
      44.564107 -69.663239